Women’s Asia Cup : Indian team announced; Jemimah Rodrigues in the squad


The Indian team for the Women’s Asia Cup has been announced. The selection committee has announced a 15-member squad led by Harmanpreet Kaur. Jemimah Rodrigues, who was ruled out of the T20I series against England due to an injury, has returned. Taniya Bhatia, who was part of the squad against England, has been named as a standby player in the World Cup squad. The Asia Cup is scheduled to be held from 1st to 15th of next month.

India will send the same team that played the T20I series against England for the T20 World Cup. Kp Navgire, an explosive batter in domestic cricket, retained his place in the squad while Smriti Mandhana became the vice-captain. Meanwhile, wicket-keeper Yastika Bhatia did not find a place. Simran Bahadur is also a standby star along with Taniya Bhatia.

The super match between India and Pakistan will be played on October 7. The opening match between Bangladesh and Thailand will be played on October 1.

All the matches will be played in Sylhet, Bangladesh. A total of seven teams will compete in the Asia Cup. Apart from India and Pakistan, the other teams are Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Malaysia, UAE and Thailand. The teams that finish in the top four will play the semi-finals at the end of the round-tobin-type battles.

India’s first match will be against Sri Lanka on October 1. This is the second match of the first day. India will take on Malaysia on October 3 and uae on October 4. The India-Pakistan match will be played on The 7th. India will take on Bangladesh on November 8.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here